This 5-steps guide will take you to your first games in 10 minutes. It also showcases the main differences between the Free, Advanced and Premium plans so that you can decide which one fits you best.
You need to sign up in order to create new games. This is free and fast .
It gives you access to a personal space where you can find & visualize more easily your previous games.
By default, each role starts the game with a stock of 8 pcs and incoming orders of 4 pcs for the next 2 weeks.
The total lead time between each stage is 3 weeks : 1 week for the order + 2 weeks for the delivery.
Ex: an order week 0 is applied on your supplier's stock on week 1 and will arrive to you on week 3.
The stock cost is $0.50/pcs and backlog cost is $1/pcs.
In the Free plan, games last for 12 rounds (/weeks).
From the Advanced Plan, you can customize several parameters in the games to fit your training needs.
With the Premium Plan, you may customize the games to fit your industrial context, brand and products.
In the Free version, all games are automatically published in the Public List here.
By upgrading to Advanced, games can be created as Private. You may share them with participants by sending them their url (such as https://beergameapp.com/game/xxx).
With the Premium plan, you may activate your own Instructor page to list all your games. Simply share the url of this page to participants (such as https://beergameapp.com/user/xxx), they will access all your games.
Whether you are hosting the session live or remotely, take a few minutes to explain the game context, rules and objectives. I have put together a few slides which can help you in this regard :
Once all participants are connected to a game & role, invite them to launch their first order. Thay can follow-up their historical data (stock, order, demand..) from the statistics array below the game stage.
As an instructor, you can follow-up the advancements of all your games from the Dashboard. Some games may run faster than others - this helps you identify potential concerns and make sure all games go on.
You can also access the game stage with the full view on stocks/orders.. even if you're not connected as one of the roles.
If needed, as the game instructor, you can force-remove a participant from a role, or modify the game parameters, this happens in the 'Game Settings' window.
With the Premium Plan, instructors can activate a timer. This forces participants to validate their order after a certain period of time (you may typically leave 1:30 per round)
When the games are finished, participants are redirected to a Debriefing page. From there, you should take a few minutes to discuss the results with them. This step is critical so that learning outcomes are reached !
You can archive the old games from your Dashboard - then they won't be available anymore for the participants and won't appear in your public instructor page.